logo: UCLA Registrar's Officeclickable image map to Registrar's Office home page      
REGISTRATION & CLASSES  white vertical divider graphic  FEES & RESIDENCE  white vertical divider graphic  ACADEMICS  white vertical divider graphic  STUDENT RECORDS  white vertical divider graphic  CALENDARS  white vertical divider graphic  FACULTY & STAFF  white vertical divider graphic  FORMS  white vertical divider graphic  ARCHIVES       

UCLA General Catalog 2016-17

CATALOG HOME  blue vertical divider graphic  ABOUT UCLA  blue vertical divider graphic  COLLEGE AND SCHOOLS  blue vertical divider graphic  UNDERGRADUATE STUDY  blue vertical divider graphic  GRADUATE STUDY
ACADEMIC POLICIES  blue vertical divider graphic  CURRICULA AND COURSES  blue vertical divider graphic  APPENDIXES  blue vertical divider graphic  CATALOG PDF

College of Letters and Science Endowed Chairs

Although UCLA is a public institution, private gifts are increasingly important in maintaining the quality of the University’s three missions of teaching, research, and community service. Among the principal forms of private support are endowed professorships or “chairs,” which support the educational and research activities of distinguished members of the faculty.

As this catalog goes to press, UCLA has 430 endowed chairs that have been approved by the Office of the President of the University of California, as follows. (Asterisks indicate new chairs that have been approved by the Office of the President since publication of the 2015-16 UCLA General Catalog.)

Armen A. Alchian Chair in Economic Theory
Maurice Amado Chair in Sephardic Studies
Jahangir and Eleanor Amuzegar Chair in Iranian Studies
Joyce Oldham Appleby Endowed Chair of America in the World
Thomas M. Asher Endowed Chair in Microbiology
Marilyn Beaudry-Corbett Endowed Chair in Mesoamerican Archaeology
*Mani L. Bhaumik Presidential Endowed Chair in Theoretical Physics
Paul D. Boyer Professorship in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Henry J. Bruman Chair in German History
Dr. E. Bradford Burns Chair in Latin American Studies
Robert N. Burr Endowed History Department Chair
Edward W. Carter Chair in Netherlandish Art
Morgan and Helen Chu Endowed Chair in Asian American Studies
James and Carol Collins Chair in College of Letters and Science
Lloyd E. Cotsen Chair in Archaeology
Norman Cousins Endowed Chair in Psychoneuroimmunology
D.J. and J.M. Cram Chair in Organic Chemistry
*Lore and Gerald Cunard Chair in UCLA/Getty Conservation Program
Charles E. Davidson Endowed Chair in Economics
De Logi Chair in Biological Sciences
*Donald R. Dickey Chair in Vertebrate Biology
*Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship
A. Richard Diebold, Jr., Endowed Chair in Indo-European Studies
*Distinguished Chair in Environment and Sustainability
Navin and Pratima Doshi Chair in Indian Studies
Mr. and Mrs. C.N. Flint Professorship in Philosophy
Christopher S. Foote Term Chair
Evan Frankel Endowed Chair in English
Gloria and Paul Griffin Chair in Philosophy
Haruhisa Handa Professorship in Shinto Studies
John Charles Hillis Chair in Literature
Marvin Hoffenberg Chair in American Politics and Public Policy
Richard Hovannisian Chair in Modern Armenian History
Marcia H. Howard Term Chair in Literary Studies
Sady and Ludwig Kahn Chair in Jewish History
Sady and Ludwig Kahn Endowed Directorship for Jewish Studies
Penny Kanner Endowed Chair in Women’s Studies
*Renée and David Kaplan Presidential Endowed Chair in Philosophy
Fred Kavli Chair in Nanosystems Sciences
Kershaw Chair in Ancient Eastern Mediterranean Studies
Leon and Joanne V.C. Knopoff Assistant Professorship in Physics and Geophysics
Alexander and Renee Kolin Endowed Professorship in Molecular Biology and Biophysics
Korea Times-Hankook Ilbo Endowed Chair in Korean American Studies and Law
Lauren B. Leichtman and Arthur E. Levine Astrophysics Endowed Chair
Madeleine L. Letessier Chair in French and Francophone Studies
Thomas E. Lifka Chair in History
Vladimir and Lydia Markov Chair in Russian Literature
John McTague Career Development Chair
Dorothy L. Meier Social Equities Chair
Ronald J. Mellor Chair in Ancient History
John Muir Memorial Endowed Chair in Geography
Franklin D. Murphy Chair in Italian Renaissance Studies
Narekatsi Chair in Armenian Studies
Gary B. Nash Endowed Chair in United States History
Waldo W. Neikirk Term Chair
LeRoy Neiman Term Chair
1939 Society Samuel Goetz Chair in Holocaust Studies
Joan Palevsky Chair in Classics
*Presidential Chair in Chemistry
Presidential Chair in Developmental Immunology
Presidential Chair in Institute of the Environment
Presidential Chair in Modern European History
Presidential Chair in Molecular Cell Biology
Hans Reichenbach Chair in Scientific Philosophy
Peter Reill Chair in European History (1450 to Modern)
Howard Reiss Career Development Chair
Maria Rowena Ross Term Chair in Cell Biology and Biochemistry
Michael and Irene Ross Chair in Yiddish Studies
Musa Sabi Chair in Iranian Studies
David Saxon Presidential Term Chair in Mathematics
David Saxon Presidential Term Chair in Physics
David S. Saxon Presidential Chair in Physics
*David O. Sears Presidential Endowed Chair in Division of Social Sciences
Johanna F. and Joseph H. Shaper Family Chair in Microbiology
Joan Silsbee Chair in African Cultural Archaeology
Louis B. and Martha B. Slichter Endowed Chair in Geophysics and Planetary Physics
Louis B. and Martha B. Slichter Endowed Chair in Geosciences
Kenneth L. Sokoloff Chair in Economic History
Charles Speroni Chair in Italian Literature and Culture
Staglin Family Chair in Psychology
Steinmetz Chair in Classical Archaeology and Material Culture
Irving and Jean Stone Endowed Chair in Life Science
Irving and Jean Stone Endowed Chair in Physical Science
Irving and Jean Stone Endowed Chair in Humanities
Jean Stone Chair
*Keith and Cecilia Terasaki Presidential Endowed Chair in Division of Life Sciences
UCLA Alumni and Friends of Japanese Ancestry Chair in Japanese American Studies
UCLA Foundation Chair
Steven F. and Christine L. Udvar-Hazy Chair
Viterbi Family Foundation Visiting Professor-ship in Mediterranean Jewish Studies
Alexander von Humboldt Endowed Chair in Geography
Walter and Shirley Wang Chair in U.S./China Relations and Communications
Scott Waugh Endowed Chair in Division of Social Sciences
Eugen Weber Chair in Modern European History
Robert and Dorothy Wellman Chair in Medieval History
Wendell Jeffrey and Bernice Wenzel Term Chair in Behavioral Neuroscience
Dean M. Willard Chair in Chemistry
Saul Winstein Chair in Organic Chemistry
Linda and Fred Wudl Term Chair
Stanley M. Zimmerman Endowed Chair in Economics and Finance