Financial Aid Standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress

UCLA Financial Aid and Scholarships establishes standards for satisfactory academic progress to measure students’ progress toward degree completion using both qualitative and quantitative methods in accordance with federal regulations. To be eligible for financial aid, students must meet or exceed these standards. Failure to maintain these standards may result in suspension of financial aid eligibility. The standards are as strict as, or more strict than, the UCLA standards for a student enrolled in the same educational program who is not receiving Title IV assistance. See the Standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress Guide.

Qualitative Standard

Undergraduate students must maintain a cumulative 2.0 grade-point average (GPA); graduate students must maintain a cumulative 3.0 GPA.

Quantitative Standard

Students must complete a minimum of 67 percent of cumulative coursework attempted.

Maximum Timeframe

Units attempted or total enrolled terms may not exceed 150 percent of the published length of students’ programs.

Change of Academic Major/Pursuit of Double Major or Minor

Students who have a change of academic major, or pursue a double major or minor, do not have additional financial aid eligibility beyond the maximum timeframe established in this policy.

Successful Completion of Units


Academic progress is evaluated annually after winter quarter grades are available. For students on probation and for students who are required to follow an academic plan (see below), academic progress is evaluated each term.

Suspension and Appeals

Professional Schools

Students attending the schools of Dentistry, Law, Management, Medicine, and UCLA Extension are covered by criteria established by the respective school.