College and Schools / School of Theater, Film, and Television

Department Requirements

Departments generally set two types of requirements that must be satisfied for award of a degree: preparation for the major (lower-division courses) and the major (upper-division courses). Preparation for the major courses should be completed before beginning upper-division work.

Preparation for the Major

A major requires completion of a set of courses known as preparation for the major, which should be completed before upper-division work is undertaken. Each department sets its own preparation for the major requirements; see the Curricula and Courses chapter.

The Major

A major is composed of no fewer than 56 units, including at least 36 units of upper-division courses.

Students must complete their major with a scholarship grade-point average of at least a 2.0 (C) in all courses in order to remain in the major. Each course in the school must be taken for a letter grade.

As changes in major requirements occur, students are expected to satisfy the new requirements insofar as possible. Hardship cases should be discussed with the department adviser, and petitions for adjustment should be submitted to the dean of the school when necessary.

Any department offering a major may require a general final examination.

Double Majors

Double majors in the School of Theater, Film, and Television and other academic units are not permitted.